Sisterhood of the Altar


Founded on October 14, 1936, the Sisterhood of the Altar began when Father Matthew Stepahin approached Mary Fecich requesting that she organize a women's group whose main function would be to provide and care for articles that would beautify the church. As the years went by, the Sisterhood became involved in a broad range of projects to serve the parish including dinners, bread sales, candy sales, nut roll sales, cookie sales, and most recently, peroghi sales which have enabled the Sisterhood to make substantial contributions to the parish.

The Sisterhood of the Altar celebrated their 70th year anniversary in 2006, which coincided with the 100th year anniversary of St. Andrew Orthodox Church. The Sisterhood continues to serve the parish in many ways and is the oldest active organization in Lyndora for the past 81 years.DSCF58132

The original item purchased by the Sisterhood for the parish was a gold-gilded Gospel book, purchased in 1940 for $145.40. Over the years, the Sisterhood has provided items such as carpeting, altar and liturgical covers, sanctuary candle globe sleeves and has donated money toward projects such as outside stair railings and the St. Andrew Orthodox Church sign that stands outside the main entrance of the church. Each year, the Sisterhood contributes toward Easter and Christmas flowers and on Mother's Day and Father's Day, they provide gifts for the parishioners. A portion of the funds raised by the Sisterhood are designated for the parish Sunday school program as well as for contributions to the Monastery of the Transfiguration in Ellwood City. In addition, the Sisterhood is also active outside the parish with the "Presents for Patients" program.


The presidents of the Sisterhood of the Altar are as follows:


1936 - 1939 Mary Fecich
1939 - 1940 Stefanie Pesocky
1940 - 1941 Sophia Fecich
1943 - 1952  
1952 - 1953 Margie Fecich
1953 - 1956 Helen Jankovich
1956 - 1958 Alice Thomos
1958 - 1960 Ann Olenic
1960 - 1961 Margie Fecich
1961 - 1962
1962 - 1963 Mary Loverick
1963 - 1964 Helen Buckowsky
1964 - 1965 Helen Jankovich
1965 - 1967 Olga Fedokoitz
1967 - 1969 Francis Fecich
1969 - 1970 Virginia Kock
1970 - 1971 Joy Nanchuk
1971 - 1973 Ann Fedosick
1973 - 1976 Mary Tincha
1976 - 1978 Francis Fecich
1978 - 1979 Mary Tincha
1979 - 1980 Ann Fedosick
1980 - 1981 Mary Tincha


Copyright © 2017 St Andrew Lyndora. All Rights Reserved.